You are here

2021 University of Louisiana at Lafayette Faculty Summit

The Student Center for Research, Creativity, and Scholarship hosted a faculty summit late in August 2021. The goal was to provided encouraging ideas and best practices for creating course-embedded research or increasing mentored research for undergraduates.

The topic was “Course embedded and Mentored Undergraduate Student Research Experiences: Shared Observations, Lessons Learned, and Best Practices”

The event was a free, virtual event. 272 people registered and we hope that next year that number will increase.

Download the Print Program

Faculty Summit 2021 

Gina Hunter: Associate Professor of Sociology and Anthropology, Director at The Office of Student Research, Illinois State University 

Advancing Inclusion and Equity through Course-Based Undergraduate Research Experiences (CUREs) and Mentorship
Email: glhunt2@ilstu.edu

Useful Links & Resources:

  • Book - Course-Based Undergraduate Research, Educational Equity and High-Impact Practice (Amazon price)
 

Kumer Das: Assistant Vice President of Research University of Louisiana at Lafayette 

Mentoring Undergraduate Students in Research and Creative Activities
Email: kumer.das@louisiana.edu

Useful Links & Resources:


Morgan Vis-Chaisson: Professor, Department of Environmental & Plant Biology, Faculty, Molecular & Cellular Biology Program, Ohio University, Athens

Strategies for incorporating undergraduate researchers in your laboratory
Email: vis-chia@ohio.edu

Useful Links & Resources:


Scott Cooper: Professor of Biology, Director of Undergraduate Research and Creativity, University of Wisconsin-La Crosse

Integrating CUREs Across the Curriculum
Email: scooper@uwlax.edu

Useful Links & Resources:


Dr. Christine Briggs: Associate Professor, Director of Center for Gifted Education UL Lafayette

Becoming Agents of Change: Student Interns Seeking Solutions to Challenges in the Classroom

Email: christine.briggs@louisiana.edu

Useful Links & Resources:

Topics from Miami:

1. At the Heart of Learning: The Library Research Scholars and Adobe Scholars Program at the University of Miami Libraries.

2. The Role of the Librarian: Sparking Student Learning, Research, and Creativity

Kelly Miller: Associate Dean, Learning and Research Services, University of Miami

Email: kelly.miller@miami.edu

Ava Brillat: English, English Composition, Theatre Arts, and Classics Librarian, University of Miami

Email: abrillat@miami.edu

Lauren Fralinger: Education and Arts & Sciences Librarian, University of Miami

Email: l.fralinger@miami.edu

Useful Resources & Links:

Panel Discussions

Panel: Student Research Experience (SRE) and International Student Needs

Gabriel A. Carranza | Moderator: Executive Director of Global Engagement. Adjunct Research Faculty, Institute for Coastal and Water Research, UL Lafayette

Email: gabriel.carranza@louisiana.edu

Luiza Campos | Panelist: Professor, Environmental Engineering University College London, UK

Email: l.campos@ucl.ac.uk

Giovana Wiecheteck | Panelist: Professor, Department of Civil Engineering, State University of Ponta Grossa, Bazil

Email: giovana.wiecheteck1@louisiana.edu

Gabriel Ascanio | Panelist: Professor, National Autonomous University of Mexico, Mexico, Institute of Applied Sciences and Technology, Mexico

Email: gabriel.ascanio@icat.unam.mx

Panel: Best Practices for Obtaining SRE Funding and Implementing SRE Action

Sherry Krayesky | Moderator: Director of Student Center for Research, Creativity, and Scholarship (SCRCS), Master Instructor, University of Louisiana at Lafayette

Email: sherry.krayesky@louisiana.edu

Suzanne Fredericq | Panelist: Professor, Biology University of Louisiana at Lafayette

Email: Suzanne.fredericq@louisiana.edu

James Nelson | Panelist: Assistant Professor, Biology University of Louisiana at Lafayette

Email: james.nelson@louisiana.edu

Farzad Ferdowsi | Panelist: Assistant Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering University of Louisiana at Lafayette

Email: farzad.ferdowsi@louisiana.edu

Link to Print Program